Cornish sketches

by maggie

I try and take a sketch book everywhere with me. Some times i get caught out and have to buy a new one… and a big fat soft pencil. Don’t worry I actually managed to fill up quite a few pages all at once.

the sea from outside tate st ives, cold, sunny and still

the sea from outside tate st ives, cold, sunny and still

The little wavelets get darker as they break, because there is more water and other wise you can see the sand clearly on this sunny day.

the view up the hill in the other direction

the view up the hill in the other direction

Yet another view on a theme of green and grey/brown. I suppose the only way of being sure that the picture is up rather than away is the size and proportions of the chapel. I seem to spend a lot of time looking a ‘flat’ views.

Next is a sketch and an accompanying photo I was aiming to record a particular effect in the drawing and it’s hard. Probably the only way to succeed is to distort the geometry a lot.

maybe I worked too hard here

maybe I worked too hard here

This mine is photographed a lot. There’s a scramble down to the lower platform. I wanted to get a view looking up and then try and capture how precarious the upper engine house is. I don’t know whether there is a capped shaft inside the building.

Any how this is just one of a series of drawings I did on site. What really hit home what the problem of what to leave out of the drawing. Most of the rock in the area is granite (that’s what the buildings are made form), but the rock here is a dark grey slate. Under the building it is undercut. The sun would come and go and change the balance of the shadows. So I wasn’t really certain what I was after.

Here’s a photo. When you walk across the platform, under the face it seems more intimidating than it looks here though.

upper engine house from lower at crown mines kennyjack

upper engine house from lower at crown mines kennyjack

I’ve just remember I have other images in my ‘proper’ sketch book I need to dig out too.

MER

