Art in the Park

by maggie

Art in the Park
I wandered up to my local park this afternoon, for tea and a bun, thinking that the weather would be cooler today and a walk would do me good. There I discovered an event organized for the community to make stuff.

Predictively I ended up at the painting/drawing pavilion. As I wasn’t in the mood for plasticine, collage or drum making (or even noticing they were there at first.) I was pleasantly impressed at the quality of the poster-paint, (as I haven’t used that medium for several decades) although carrying my pictures home, there was that familiar chalky quality of bygone days.
It was great watching everyone from toddlers who could barely hold a brush to overly controlling mums having a go. One boy however, refused to attempt anything. He was quite happy to paint over his friends monster face and paint himself red – sunburn! He was quite clear in explaining that he had issues with his father’s career as a a professional illustrator and the quality of his own art. I can sympathize and hope that one day he gains the maturity to find his own way to express himself.

My first picture was of the park of course. Judging by the work hanging to dry from the trees, once anyone had reached the age of self consciousness, they had opted for the obvious subject as well. The park consists of well shorn lawns, tarmac paths and a boarder of thirsty looking shrubs, with the occasional standard tree dotted around. A tough gig for an impromptu picture.
By the cafe is a cluster of young copper beaches which stand out from the crowd. Sitting under their canopy there is a marked discordance between the autumnal impressions from the leaves and the scored summer look of the rest of the park.

the park handily devoid of people and pavilions

the park handily devoid of people and pavilions

My second attempt of the afternoon was another bash at the Peak district pool – which looked more like some rock strewn path than a limpid, shaded pool. More shadows I think, but I’m still practicing my bright grasses.

It was fun to paint in company, without any pressure to produce something worth while. It was a pleasure to see all the other people hard at work. I hope that that they took two things away with them that afternoon (along with their work) – that art is fun and that there aren’t any rules save what you make up for yourself.

MER

and here is a second attempt – probably being too clearer by half

the crayons don't have much tonal variation if you start with dark paper

the crayons don’t have much tonal variation if you start with dark paper

