Drawing in the Rain – Report

by maggie

I didn’t do much drawing in the rain. Despite the weather forecast it didn’t rain that much and when it did I didn’t want to stop. My walking partner was keen to get to the tops of things, so I had to try and commit the view to memory. I did do some drawing over the weekend.

Here are two pencil sketches done from the relative comfort of the hut; Cae’r Fran above Llanberis.

Bats over Llyn Peris and Llyn Padarn

Bats over Llyn Peris and Llyn Padarn

The porch light lit up the foreground. Down on the valley bottom the lights of the Slate Museum reflect on Llyn Pardan and on the right the flood lit power station illuminates the mountain. The sky is almost the lightest thing despite the stars appearing for the first time over the weekend.

The early morning light catches the slate on the tips with Y Garn behind.

The early morning light catches the slate on the tips with Y Garn behind.

Instead of low cloud and overcast the morning was bright. As I worked the shadows moved but all the while the edges of the slate tips were highlit.

I was working with water soluble graphite pencils which makes it possible to build up and image with washes and as well as line, then take things out with a putty rubber. I was using a heavy weight paper which provided stability as well as a bit of texture. The page size is small, so the images are ‘snapshots’ and not panoramas.

I enjoyed this weekend. I am beginning to get a feeling for what I really want out of a trip for drawing. This doesn’t mean that I don’t want to go climbing ever again… it’s just that it’s so strange rushing off to places to climb an ignoring everything else. I’m not particularly interested in getting to the top of things, for the sake of the top; but the journey is interesting, each turn revealing a different vista. So I’m learning to react less to everybody else’s whims and  time for my own preoccupation’s.

Hopefully I shall make some more pictures from this weekend, even though I’m not there anymore.

MER

Edit: Finally managed to hck my phone so here is a very quick sketch of the ‘Watford Gap’ I did while we were eating lunch in Never never Land… Slate doesn’t have much of a tonal range, But you could probably work out something with careful hatching.

It wasn't quiet as grim and over cast as the slate suggests

It wasn’t quiet as grim and over cast as the slate suggests

