Hodge Podge – 1

by maggie

Finally I have managed to sit down and do some more painting while at home. Some things about process crystallised as I worked so I’m trying to pin them down before they scuttle away.
Part of the problem is becoming aware of what I subconsciously understand as the practice of various sub-disciplines and what one actually does when one sits down on the day.
What for example is painting? Is it what you do with a paint brush, or is it what you do when you manipulate liquid colour on a surface? Like wise drawing – something you do with a pencil or dry, linear mark making?
Asking these questions makes one realise what silly questions they are. So with out further ado here are some little pictures and some thoughts to go with them.

I haven’t forgotten the windows. This is what I see when I wake up in the morning. In fact the distortion is even more pronounced, but my head and my hand wont believe my eyes.

early morning light

early morning light

I underpainted this with some violet acrylic i had lying around. Then drew in the composition. The painting was done in gauche, which was a challenge because it’s water soluble so you can’t try again. I’m satisfied with the outcome. Naturally it could be better, different brushes, steadier hand, refinement of the composition through the window.

–––

In Snowdonia the cloud base was at about 700m. It cut off the peaks and cast shadows on the valleys.

lowing clouds

lowing clouds

Looking up the Llanberis Pass from the quarries, in the distance Dinas Mot and the lower slopes of Llechog. This picture was done in  water soluble pencil and brush pen, the one below in water colour. The summit of Snowdon is off to the right beyond the dark shadow the clouds cast on the valley. Higher up near the pass the cloud is lighter, but ridges become increasing paler in the mist. As well as trying to get the geology right, there’s also an atmosphere to capture.

Crib Goch

shadow and light

This picture is made with a brush in wet and dry. The upper picture is drawn and reworked with washes. The composition is from quite high on the valley side so it’s a slightly different feeling than that of looking up from the bottom of the valley.

–––

I’ve been exploring under painting as the window picture above, but here is another go at Lewis Castle on the Gower

LCblue

All the little pictures in this post are done on textured paper. So here the blue under painting shows through everywhere. It’s also possible to add texture to the sky. My father used to talk about the texture of the sky. Not clouds, but the blueness. He used to maintain that sky was writhing and bubbly which always used to confuse me. It probably has something to do with eye sight. Have looked at the sky a lot more over the last year I am beginning to understand what he might mean.

St M-- nr Tintagel

St M– nr Tintagel

This is the first image of my father’s work I could find with an interesting sky. Often they are more subtle than this, but he was also working on a ‘half tone’ effect.
–––
Finally here’s a tree picture.

Oaks at the bottom of the garden.

Oaks at the bottom of the garden.

Or should that be trees picture. It’s a simple composition, one that’s embedded in my memory. It’s something that I could work on for ages, in search of a more perfect picture. I’m not sure that I’ll ever find it.

–––

Writing this post it’s become obvious how much I enjoyed my picture making session. I am charging up lots of different avenues I admit, they are all related. Some are more challenging than others. It’s fun and I don’t know what I’ll do when I get to the end of the road with a particular image – start again of course.

MER

