In the Dark

by maggie

 

This week I have mainly been going to weddings again. I have also been thinking about dyslexia, my dyslexia that is. I feel that problems with communications (listening, writing, reading and speaking) which indicate dyslexia are symptoms of wider issues with processing difficulties. The more I want to do with my life (with out running out of mental spoons*) the more sophisticated coping strategies I have to develop. So I’m starting on the lists…

But on to the Art…

This wedding reception was held in a very fine garden with some serious topiary. I have drawings, which my father did. On this visit I had the opportunity to draw the hedges in the dark.

drama and a way of being blinded by the flood light

drama and a way of avoiding being blinded by the flood light

a more general view and a conscious effort not to do the standard approach. its easier to sit in the middle of the croquet lawn if it's already occupied.

a more general view and a conscious effort not to do the standard view. its easier to sit in the middle of the croquet lawn if it’s already occupied.

As well as the wedding party I was thinking about these hedges before I arrived. I made attempt at them in the afternoon which was nothing special, but later in the dark and drizzle I had another go. Most things were in shadow save the edges where the light and the tiny yew leaves made strong marks.

a first attempt in the afternoon which was interrupted and then worked on later

a first attempt in the afternoon which was interrupted and then worked on later

the next day I had a bit of a play. first of all working out the lay out of the hedge and its cupolas which are bigger than one thinks. then it was a case of using the materials I had to hand and see what resulted.

planning and thinking about layout and interesting views

planning and thinking about layout and interesting views

abstraction of the essentials.

abstraction of the essentials.

An finally here’s a photo to give you an idea of all the things i’ve left out.

here is the hedge in it's summer splendour, surrounded by trees and shrubs

here is the hedge in it’s summer splendour, surrounded by trees and shrubs

There is a temptation when one has found a satisfactory solution to a problem to keep working over the same thing. I like this approach of strong contrasts now I’ve got over the hurdle of one making line drawing, but I know it’s not suitable for everything.

Hopefully now the short wedding season is over for the moment, I’ll be able to spend some time planning my planning this week.

MER

* When I first came a cross some one talking about Spoons I wasn’t really sure what they were talking about beyond not having enough energy or personal resources to do what is needed. Here is the original explanation about living with a chronic illness. So I suppose I’ve finally got enough spare metal spoons to begin to work out how to get more, or use the ones I have more wisely.

If anyone has any suggestions or tips they would be most welcome.

