Hodge Podge – 3

by maggie

As I indicated last week I have taken up bread making; if you count three loaves in as many weeks as taking up. I was sick of buying seemingly nice loaves from the shops and discovering them to be boring plastic crap. My mum used to make eight pound loaves each week. I think that started because of the bread strike sometimes in the seventies. She made quite dense brown loaves, everyone’s sandwiches used to be much larger than mine.

So really I shouldn’t have been surprised how easy the making was – except I hate to get my hands covered in dough. At least when you are only making one pound loaf you can mix it with a spoon until it’s firm enough to kneed.
Any way, here is a photo of loaf number three:

20140402-112642.jpg
It 100% spelt made with a small amount of quick yeast and left to prove over night. I may make loaf #4 in some kind of tin, just to stop it spreading too much.
Long term bread doesn’t do too much good for my insides, but at least this is better than the plastic stuff or any other alternative when I can’t face cooking anything.

In other news: I have added some more flowers to a recent post as I am cat siting at the gallery.
I was planning to add some more thoughts to this but I’ve run out of steam for the moment.

MER

