Some actual geology

by maggie

Pinks, violets and lilac aren’t normally found on stones in the wild. So all though it’s been fun to work with these colours I’ve also been working with more a more subdued palette. Here is my assistant examining the box of pebbles I’ve collected so far.

image

Some of the cut outs are more successful than others, just like a real beach. I need to spread them out and work out what works and what doesn’t.

Slightly put out by the cost of framing my big sheets of paper, I’ve worked on backgrounds on two 30 x 100 canvases which I haven’t yet used for the purpose I originally planned for them.

When I was preparing these canvases a nearby tree was shedding tiny seeds everywhere.

When I was preparing these canvases a nearby tree was shedding tiny seeds everywhere.

One is chalk(whiteing), the other is an acrylic body, stained and then washed (didn’t anticipate the pink).

here is a selection of some of the pebbles I’ve made.

Do you think I've a good start on a beach? Mm Stones in various stages of completeness.

Do you think I’ve a good start on a beach? Stones in various stages of completeness.

Tissue paper isn’t waterproof so you can get some interesting patterns with a bit of damp. I’ll probably raid my silver foil collection and back them with something sparkly too. Be a bit choosy were I cut the pebbles too.

Yet more textures to play with

Yet more texture

I’ve also added more stones to the pink note book. Different techniques – just got to keep good notes on how I did what.

I’m also planning to visit the geological museum in west ken soon. It’s one of my favourite places, but I don’t know where any of my existing notes made there might be.

MER

