Black Square – part iii

by maggie

I went to the last weekend of this exhibition at the Whitechapel Gallery – One hundred years of Abstract art kicking off with Malevich’s painting of a black square. it was huge and full of words and things.

The first thing I got from the show is how absolutely the world has changed over the last century. How what is acceptable has been overturned so many times, and the difficultly in imagining how revolutionary abstract art first was. There was lots of articles written about the exhibition, here’s one from the Guardian.

Any way I thought I had written about this exhibition at the RA last summer then I would have to witter on too much about this one, but no. At least not here.

One of the question s from the blog hop was: How does my work differ from others of my genre?

I don’t even know what my genre is so how am I going to answer that.

I’ve been thinking a bit about tribes instead – like the art groupies of E1.

I’m sure I’m a member of lots of tribes, there’s the one I look like on the outside and the ones I’m in, in the inside.

One day I’ll find the rest of my right now, making things and thinking tribe. And that will be good.

meanwhile I’ve got things to do. (maybe next time I’ll be a little more articulate – and have read all those books I brought at the whitechapel shop – or atlas looked at the pictures… )

MER

 

