(Sticks and) Stones

by maggie

I’ve been busy this last fortnight making some pictures.

four seasons

four seasons

IMG_0951

IMG_0953

IMG_0955

IMG_0954 

 Golden Ratio

over winter I worked my long thin canvases. I finished one, but not the other. I’m going back to it now, after finding the ice-cream cobble on Llandudno beach. 

I did some sketches thinking about proportion  And then taped suitably sized papers into position. 

 You can play around with levels with the camera, but not go too mad – thought the blue background is not original.

cobble diameter 3/5th height of board at the golden ration 1:1.618

cobble diameter 3/5th height of board at the golden ration 1:1.618

proportionally smaller cobbles at the next smaller ratios

proportionally smaller cobbles at the next smaller ratios

and here we are with the colours etc. pushed in another direction.

and here we are with the colours etc. pushed in another direction.

Now I have to find the right paper for these large pebbles and add more smaller bits and pieces while still keeping the tension between the existing stuff.

So stuff happens  MER

