Dry Point Plus

by maggie

Here are some prints that didn’t get printed last term. We moved on to new techniques and these got left behind. I’m sure you can see the relation to  previously posted prints.

january-7

these pebbles are textured with different weights of abrasive papers. If I remember correctly the ground was put on through the press and the pebbles were applied by hand, using glue or something similar to mask out the veins.

It’s strange when your actually printing you don’t get much time to reflect on the product. I wonder now whether this plate needs more work to bring out the subject matter or if it just needs a touch of a second colour?

january-6

this plate is made by scratching into a polycarbonate plate, the form is transferred from the previous version of this plate

Because there was a fixed mask around the pebble area I could scratch and scrap as much as I liked without worrying about the  white areas being marked up. I think I was trying to make legitimate geological marks rather than pictorial ones so I regret the hatching near the white areas. The’s no shading or attempt at 3D modelling so the image looks a bit lost – ho hum.

Here is the previous print for comparison.

IMG_1144

this print is made by placing sticky backed vinyl on the plate. ink is trapped in the thickness of the film and around the air bubbles caught under the film

The air bubbles are completely random. I could have been more conscious of my wiping as well; created more modelling with the surface ink on the vinyl and around the edges.


And the lesson learned? Make time for a more considered use of the plate and more complete final image.

 

MER

 

