Prep

by maggie

I have even less idea about what I’m doing for this dry point thing than I did last week, so I thought that if I posted some pictures of work in progress at least I’d have done some work.

img_1278

Here are two tessellation origami. on the left: basic right angle twist fold [ smallest version of tessellation on the link.], on the right wind farm. [ not technically origami as you have to cut the paper. ] both from left over paper from the paper fight.

img_1279

I’ve covered both papers with aluminium tape to protect them from the printing process. lucky the tape is as wide as two squares of the design so the tape edges won’t interfere too badly. I’ve used the tape to stop the folds from lifting up and getting ink underneath. It works better than glue and varnish. The printed image is made from the ink caught in the differences in the number of paper layers.

I’m still dragging my feet making anymore plates for the drypoint suite, but as I’ve just finished cobbling together this post I should have more motivation.

I had some vague ideas about this plate before I started and I’m please with how it turned out. Staring at all those pictures of space had it’s use. First I attacked the polycarbonate with a fine jigsaw blade to make the big diagonals. Then I used stickers to mask  areas I didn’t want to be marked up. Those areas become celestial bodies. The circular white marks are drill holes – we’ve yet to see how they print. I’ve used scalpels, needles and awls to make the tonal marks. I might put this plate through the press with some sandpaper to get an overall tone, before I ink it.

img_1281

these plates are really difficult to photograph, because there are just little scratches on the surface of a transparent plate.

But I did discover two new ways of examining the plate as I cut it. In this photo the light source is between the plate and a black background. The white marks should print and the paper stickers remain white along with the black background.

This image is a projection. A strong light is shone through the plate onto a black page. The shadows show what will be printed, except the stickers area.

We’ll see what tomorrow brings, when I print the plate.

MER

