I know, I know

by maggie

I know i’m holding a lot back, or in, or down. I can be honest with myself that far. Anything more than a furious back scribble takes planning and time. Giving me the opportunity to edit out any vulnerabilities.
So there i’ve said it.
I know you’re not going to punch me in the face or laugh scornfully – so maybe i can try it. Making something personal.
It’s not that I have been purposefully working on diversionary tactics. It’s more that the cunning plans have been leading by default. I get fascinated by little things and wander off down cul de sacs.
I have wanted to make emotionally engaged work. I just haven’t known how – or allowed myself and… all that shit. Or maybe space is sufficiently remote to be safe.
The other week I was messing with stuff from magazines and found this –
[well i would post it if i could get the thing to up load]

It stuck out from all the other ones – even though I told myself the composition was unfinished.

I tried to fit it into a square and my sketches failed for lots reasons

  • Starting with the textured paper in the sketch book
  • not keeping the pencils sharp enough

img_1296
I really wanted it to work, but that involves understanding what spoke to me from the image in the first place.

So after retreating into the Shed to pout I fished out some old sketchbooks with real drawings of real things in them.
Keep an eye out for empty tables and desolate views through windows in the up coming weeks.
MER

